Mojy Haddad Joins NTTA Board; Replaces Victor Vandergriff


Sam Rayburn Tollway NTTAMojy Haddad, president and founder of CHS Architects in Arlington, joins the NTTA Board of Directors in February as a Tarrant County appointee, completing Victor Vandergriff’s two-year term which ends Aug. 31, 2014.

 Haddad is a registered architect in Texas, Hawaii, Florida, California, New York and many other states. In addition to his local and national design experience, Haddad has designed projects in Japan, Australia, Europe, Mexico and Canada. As the principal of a medium size firm, Haddad has managed projects ranging from mid-rise office buildings to shopping centers, financial institutions, mixed use developments and hospitality projects to schools, religious, and municipal buildings. 

 In addition to memberships in professional associations such as the American Institute of Architects and the International Council of Shopping Centers, Haddad has earned board certification from the National Council of Architectural Registration Board.  His extensive list of civic involvements includes serving as a member of the Super Bowl Host Committee Board of Directors, chairman of the Arlington Chamber of Commerce as well as the Chamber Foundation, and president of the Arlington Sports Authority as well as many other board appointments and accomplishments.  He also served seven years on Arlington’s planning and zoning commission, acting as its chairman for three years.

 Victor Vandergriff announced in January he would step down from the NTTA Board of Directors at the end of the month. Vandergriff served as a Tarrant County appointee to the board since September 2007. He served as chairman of the board from 2010 to 2011.

 Vandergriff participated in a very active period for the NTTA, including the acquisition and completion of the Sam Rayburn Tollway, the construction of the President George Bush Turnpike Western Extension, funding and beginning construction of the Chisholm Trail Parkway, and conversion to an all-electronic system of toll collection.

 The NTTA is governed by a nine-member board of directors representing Dallas, Collin, Denton and Tarrant counties. Each county appoints two members, and the governor of Texas appoints one member from a county adjacent to the NTTA's four-county service area. The board members serve staggered two-year terms, and no member may be an elected official. From their membership, the directors elect a chair and vice chair.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>